Increasing the Odds

After just a few months of trying, I really didn’t expect to feel this antsy each month- waiting for the fertile time, trying to figure out what we can do differently. We’ve been temping and using the oral sensor on the Ovacue. Last month, we bought the vaginal sensor and started monitoring the cervix (again).
The Ovacue seems so straightforward, so scientific and error-proof, that we’ve really been relying on it pretty heavily. However, R has inconsistent cycles and changing the cycle length in the OvaCue changes the peak fertility date. Since we can’t really predict her current cycle length and we really have to get the time as close as possible, the OvaCue isn’t working out as well as we’d hoped.
BBT just doesn’t work for us – the temperature in our room changes too much at night, and our sleep schedules are so wacky that it just doesn’t give us any useful information.
Cervical monitoring is incredibly frustrating. I can tell that it is painful for R and I have a hard time finding her cervix and, well, seeing anything at all. I can usually see the cervical mucus though, so at least I feel like we are getting some information from it.
We’re going to keep up with all of this and hope that we can get some things lining up so that we can be more confident when we’re inseminating. R had a doctor’s appointment this morning and she offered to give her a prescription for metformin to help regulate her cycle a bit.
We’re learning more and more every month so hopefully it will work out for us soon!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Increasing the Odds

  1. Boo

    Hi there. Sorry to hear you are having such a hard time with the cervical exams…I can totally relate to the frustrations of cervical monitoring. Cervix like to hide, don’t they?

    One thing that has really helped me in locating my partner’s cervix is an LED headlamp. Although I look pretty foolish when I wear it, it is so nice to have a really good light source right where I need it. It’s a way better source than from a lamp pointed at her (which is what we were doing previously). It also seems that when I wear it, both my hands are free to more carefully move the speculum to where her cervix is that day (you probably know this, but the cervix is located really far back and will move and change positions each day). Also, I think we are having a better time as we keep checking it each month. My partner has gotten much better at breathing and keeping her pelvic floor muscles relaxed.

    Good luck and I hope it gets easier for you (both).

Leave a comment